For a more complete listing, check out our online catalog.
Access Emergency Medicine is a complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos. Physicians and residents will find answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and orthopedic emergencies, to poisoning and trauma. A semantically-driven search engine provides quick and targeted treatment information, as well as deeper information such as different presentations, diagnostic tests, procedures, and more.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by 
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by 
Access Emergency Medicine has a collection of short videos covering situations found in emergency care.
Some available topics include:
| Chapter 14: Allergy and Anaphylaxis |
| Chapter 98: Ectopic Pregnancy and Emergencies in the First 20 Weeks of Pregnancy |
| Video 09-06: Trauma: Complete Exam |
Please click here for a full list of videos accessible through this database.
Use Access Emergency Medicine to Walk Through Case Studies
Sample Case for Acute Abdominal Pain:
You are working in the emergency department (ED) of a 15-bed rural hospital without CT scan capabilities, and a 25 year-old, previously healthy woman presents for evaluation of abdominal pain. The patient describes her pain as having been present for the past 3 days. The pain is described as constant, exacerbated by movements, and associated with subjective fevers and chills. She denies any recent changes in bowel habits, urinary symptoms, or menses. Her last menstrual period was 6 days ago. The physical examination reveals temperature of 38.4°C (101.1°F), pulse rate of 110 beats per minute, blood pressure of 112/70 mm Hg, and respiratory rate of 18 breaths per minute. Her skin is nonicteric. Cardiopulmonary examination is unremarkable. The abdomen is mildly distended and tender in both right and left lower quadrants. Involuntary guarding and localized rebound tenderness are noted in the right lower quadrant. The pelvic examination reveals no cervical discharge; cervical motion tenderness and right adnexal tenderness are present. The rectal examination reveals no masses or tenderness. Laboratory studies reveal white blood cell (WBC) count of 14,000 cells/mm3, a normal hemoglobin, and a normal hematocrit. The urinalysis reveals 3-5 WBC/high-power field (HPF), few bacteria, and trace ketones.
What are the most likely diagnoses?
How can you confirm the diagnosis?
Click here to explore the answers
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
MEDLINE Ultimate offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database.
ClinicalKey offers the most current, evidence-based answers available for all medical and surgical specialties, including over 1,000 books, over 500 top journals, and over 13,000 procedural videos. Content supplied by Elsevier, the world's leading provider of science and health information. Faster, more relevant clinical answers, so you can spend less time searching and more time caring for patients.
Springer books and journals are a leading source of high-quality scientific content covering a broad range of subjects. Including highly-specialized and interdisciplinary research the collection is continually growing to support scientists, researchers and academics in their work.
