Access (formerly Access Medicine)Learn when you want, where you want, and how you want. Access is your personal medical resource library that makes studying easier and more efficient. Access personalizes and tailors your medical education experience, giving you the healthcare content you need, on the go, even when you’re offline. Now includes more resources and features.
At the top of the AccessMedicine database (or other Access databases), click on Baylor Health Sciences Library and then on “Login or Create Free Personal Account.” Once your account is set up go to your phone’s app store (Android or Apple) and download the app and login with the account you’ve just created. Every 90 days, you will need to log into My Access on AccessMedicine through Baylor/Scott & White’s network to keep it authenticated.
BoardVitalsBoardVitals helps users prepare for board examinations with up-to-date review materials including questions, practice exams, and detailed answers with references and source information. Additionally, BoardVitals analyzes users' completed practice exams and suggests study questions for further review.
In order to access the BoardVitals app, patrons must first register for an account here (works best to register using the Chrome browser) using a @bswhealth.org email address. Please note, after you register, you will not be able to access the materials until you receive a confirmation email with an acceptance link. Once an account has been created, patrons should be able to sign into the app with the account they created.
ClinicalKeyClinicalKey offers the most current, evidence-based answers available for all medical and surgical specialties, including over 1,000 books, 500 top books, over 500 top journals and over 13,000 procedural videos.
To download the ClinicalKey app you have to be on a BSWH networked computer. Go to www.clinicalkey.com and register for an account (in the upper right hand corner). When your account is set up, go to your phone’s app store and download the ClinicalKey app. Login to the account you created and you can use ClinicalKey on your phone.
EBSCO databasesEBSCOhost Mobile provides seamless access to the EBSCO databases (CINAHL, MEDLINE, etc.) via mobile devices.
At the bottom of each EBSCO database is an “iPhones and Android Apps” link. Clicking on the link will bring up a dialogue that asks you to enter your S&W email address. It’s important that you can access your email on the device you want the app installed on and that you install the app in 24 hours and the code sent to your address will expire. Follow directions in the email and contact the library with any problems.
Mango LanguagesMango uses real-life situations and actual conversations to effectively teach users to learn a new language.
If you want remote access to Mango you need to register (Microsoft Edge recommended) for a personal profile (use your BSWHealth.org email address) and download the Mango Languages app from your phone’s app store. Login with the profile you created.
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MedlinePlus offers versions of MedlinePlus optimized for mobile phones in English and Spanish at http://m.medlineplus.gov and http://m.medlineplus.gov/espanol . Like the original versions of the mobile sites, the redesigned sites are optimized for mobile phones and tablets. Unlike the original mobile sites that contained only a subset of the information available on MedlinePlus, the new sites have all of the content found on MedlinePlus and MedlinePlus en español. They also have an improved design for easier use on mobile devices.
MedOneMedOne Education grants access to a collection of to-date 95 fully downloadable medical textbooks from Thieme’s Color Atlases and Flexibook series. MedOne features a wealth of expert information, concise instructional text, and stunning visuals: The textbooks cover full-color anatomy, basic science, clinical sciences, and radiology.
To set up MedOne you need to be on a computer on the BSWH Network.
Create Remote Access to use your MedOne content outside your institution’s network. When establishing your initial remote access connection, make sure that you are on a recognized network of your organization (via LAN or WLAN, Shibboleth/Open Athens). Your registration will then be automatically linked to your institution and allow you to access your institution’s licensed MedOne content off campus.
| Note: If you are connected to the network of your organization in your Thieme product, you will see the organization's name in the header. |
To activate your MedOne remote access, go to account.thieme.de and log in with your username and password or create a new account.
There you will be given multiple options related to your account. Simply click on "Activate Remote Access".
Then login to the MedOne app with the account you've created.
MicromedexMicromedex provides comprehensive drug information to improve patient outcomes and to treat and diagnose patients at the point of care.
Step 1: Visit the App Store from your device and search IBM Micromedex Drug Ref, IBM Micromedex Drug Int., IBM Micromedex IV Comp., IBM Micromedex NeoFax, or IMB Micromedex Pediatrics.
Step 2: From the App, select download / install the application. You may be prompted to enter your Apple or Google ID.
Step 3: The app will download to your app library, or directly to your device.
Step 4: Open the app. Enter the password below to begin using the app. The password is case-sensitive. Please enter it exactly as it appears.
IBM Micromedex Drug Ref (Q7Avbn), Drug Int (AExzFp), IV Comp (8NxCEG), NeoFax (Cs7Q6g), or Pediatrics (bj3my2)
Nursing Reference Center At the bottom of Nursing Reference Center is an NRC iPhone/iPod Touch Application link. Clicking on the link will bring up a dialogue that asks you to enter an email address. It’s important that you can access your email on the device you want the app installed on and that you install the app in 24 hours and the code sent to your address will expire. Follow directions in the email and contact the library with any problems.
Rosetta StoneRosetta Stone provides core lessons to build speaking, reading and writing skills in over 30 languages.
Download the ‘Learn Languages: Rosetta Stone’ free app for either iOS or Android.
.
1. Do not launch the app once installed. Instead enter the following URL into your mobile device's browser or click on this link from your mobile device: https://tinyurl.com/4e9xv47r
2. You are routed to the Rosetta Stone program login screen. Please enter your BSWH Email/Password to sign in.
3. Once in the program, click ‘Launch Rosetta Stone Languages Lessons Version 3.’
4. The program will automatically open the mobile application.
5. Follow instructions 2 – 4 each time you want to access Rosetta Stone from your mobile device.
Stat!RefSTAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere.
See the handout below for instructions on installing StatRef on your phone.
Up to DateUpToDate is specifically designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice and to do so quickly and easily so that it can be used right at the point of care.
If you want remote access to Up to Date you need to register for a personal account and download their app. NPI number is not required. Please see the handout below for instructions on installing UTD on your phone.
VisualDxVisualDx is an electronic resource for Web and mobile devices that combines the power of a comprehensive medical image library with concise evidence-based clinical information.
A mobile app is available. For information or to download, please see the library's VisualDx link and sign up for an account by clicking the link on the home page under the search bar then download the app for your phone and login with the account you're created.
